Marquette University

Philosophy

Cognitive Science

Commencement Awards and Recognitions May 9, 2024

> Marquette Hall Commons 111 1 – 2pm



2024 Commencement Awards and Recognitions May 9, 2024

Philosophy Cognitive Science

Greetings and Introductions

Dr. Corinne Bloch-Mullins
Chair, Department of Philosophy
Director, Cognitive Science Program
Associate Professor of Philosophy

Philosophy Undergraduate Awards

Dr. Javier Ibanez-Noe Chair, Philosophy Undergraduate Committee Associate Professor of Philosophy

Cognitive Science Undergraduate Awards

Dr. Clark Wolf
Coordinator, Cognitive Science Program
Teaching Assistant Professor, Philosophy

Philosophy Graduate Awards

Dr. Theresa Tobin
Director of Graduate Studies, Department of Philosophy
Associate Professor of Philosophy

Awards and Recognitions Philosophy

Francis X. Boden Award for Excellence in Social and Political Philosophy 2024 Recipient: Joseph Spiezio

Arts & Sciences: Philosophy and History majors; Medieval Studies minor

This award is presented to an undergraduate major in Philosophy selected by the Philosophy faculty based on excellence in academic achievement in social, political, and legal philosophy. The award honors Mr. Francis X. Boden who graduated from Marquette College in 1895 and practiced law in Milwaukee until his death in 1935. Throughout his life, Mr. Boden had a deep interest in philosophy.

Rev. John Naus, S.J. Award for Excellence in Ethics and Values 2024 Recipient: Macnessa Fidlin

Arts & Sciences: Philosophy and Peace Studies Comprehensive Honors Bachelor of Arts

This award is presented to an undergraduate major in Philosophy selected by the Philosophy faculty based on excellence in academic achievement in the study of Ethics and Values. The award honors the legendary Philosophy professor Rev. John Naus, S.J.

James Robb Award For excellence in the History of Philosophy 2024 Recipient Tin Krstulovic

Arts & Sciences: Philosophy and Applied Mathematics majors; Sports Management minor

This award is presented to an undergraduate major in Philosophy selected by the Philosophy faculty based on excellence in academic achievement in the study of the History of Philosophy. The award honors the much-beloved Dr. James H. Robb, Professor of Philosophy from 1956-1993.

Awards and Recognitions

Cognitive Science

The Alan Turing Award

2024 Recipient: Clare Fitzgerald

Arts & Sciences: Cognitive Science major and Computer Science minor

This award is presented to an undergraduate major in Cognitive Science for excellence in academic achievement in cognitive science. This award honors Alan Turing, who was a mathematician, computer scientist, and a philosopher, who is widely considered the founder of computer science and artificial intelligence.

The Ulric Neisser Award 2024 Recipient: Bennett Apostol

Arts & Sciences: Cognitive Science and Data Science majors

Honors Bachelor of Science

This award is presented to an undergraduate major in Cognitive Science for excellence in empirical research. This award honors the psychologist Ulric Neisser, whose work brought together research on perception, pattern recognition, attention, problem solving, and memory. His novel integration of these areas has paved the way to the development of the field of cognitive psychology.

Awards and Recognitions Philosophy Graduate Program

Thomas C. Anderson Graduate Instructor Teaching Award

2024 Recipient: Cameron Roman 2023 Recipient: Dustin Trampe

This award, named in honor of a long-time Philosophy Department Chair, is given to a graduate student instructor who has demonstrated excellence in teaching.

Bachelor of Arts Philosophy Graduates

Veronica Bevan

Civil Engineering major and Philosophy minor Honors Bachelor of Science

Margarita Buitrago

Arts & Sciences: English and Philosophy majors; History and Medieval

Studies minors

Honors Bachelor of Arts

Jack Falcus

Arts & Sciences: Philosophy major; Psychology and Business minors

Macnessa Fidlin

Arts & Sciences: Philosophy, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, and Peace Studies majors; Innovative Leadership Concentration Comprehensive Honors Bachelor of Arts in Biology and Philosophy

Alyssa Koepp

Arts & Sciences: Philosophy and Psychology majors;

Public History minor Honors Bachelor of Arts

Jenna Kozal

Arts & Sciences: Philosophy, Criminology and Law Studies, and Gender and Sexual Studies majors

Tin Krstulovic

Arts & Sciences: Philosophy and Applied Mathematics majors; Sports Management minor

Margeaux Lazar

Arts & Sciences: Philosophy major

Honors Bachelor of Arts

Hunter Newborn

Arts & Sciences: Philosophy and Cognitive Sciences majors

Joseph Spiezio

Arts & Sciences: Philosophy and History majors;

Medieval Studies minor

Kenya Sumpter

Arts & Sciences: Philosophy and Economics majors; Psychology minor

Luqman Waheeduddin

Arts & Sciences: Philosophy and Math majors

Honors Bachelor of Science

Theodore Whapham

Arts & Sciences: Philosophy and Applied Mathematics majors

Comprehensive Honors Bachelor of Arts

Bachelor of Science Cognitive Science Graduates

Caraline Anderson

Arts & Sciences: Cognitive Science and English majors

Bennett Apostol

Arts & Sciences: Cognitive Science and Data Science majors Honors Bachelor of Science

Sophia Berzsenyi

Arts & Sciences: Cognitive Science and English majors; Psychology minor

Jonah Blohowiak

Arts & Sciences: Cognitive Science and Psychology majors; Culture, Health, and Illness minor

Taylor Davis

Arts & Sciences: Cognitive Science major and French minor

Clare Fitzgerald

Arts & Sciences: Cognitive Science major and Computer Science minor

Jack Grahn

Arts & Sciences: Cognitive Science and Psychology majors

Neha Kurpad

Arts & Sciences: Cognitive Science major; Psychology and Spanish, Languages, Literatures and Cultures minors

Hunter Newborn

Arts & Sciences: Cognitive Science and Philosophy majors

Serena Pace

Arts & Sciences: Cognitive Science major; Fine Arts-Graphic Design minor

Elena Proos

Arts & Sciences: Cognitive Science and Innovative Leadership majors; Communication Studies and Marketing minors

Analise Segarra

Arts & Sciences: Cognitive Science major; Neuroscience and Spanish for the Profession minors
Honors Bachelor of Science

Anam Sirohey

Arts & Sciences: Cognitive Science major; Biomedical Sciences minor

Mia Tumacder

Arts & Sciences: Cognitive Science and Psychology majors; English minor Honors Bachelor of Science

Yitong Wang

Arts & Sciences: Cognitive Science and Psychology majors; Family Studies minor

Graduate Program Philosophy Graduates Master of Arts

Dylan Andersen *History of Philosophy*

Levi Czernik
Social and Applied Philosophy

Xander Vaughn

History of Philosophy