Student Groups

CECP Graduate Student Organization (GSO)

GSO Officers 2017-18

Faculty Advisor: Lisa Edwards, Ph.D., lisa.edwards@marquette.edu

CECP Department Advisor: Coreen Bukowski, coreen.bukowski@marquette.edu

CECP GSO Eboard 2017

President: Sydney Borden, sydney.borden@marquette.edu

The president runs meetings, delegates authority, recruits members, serves as the official representative of the organization, and makes decisions about the direction of the organization. The president also consults with the organization faculty advisor and acts as a liaison between the students and the faculty. It is the duty of the president to organize and facilitate annual officer elections as well as organize current student participation in Master's and Doctoral applicant interviews.

Vice President: Sarah Patel, sarah.patel@marquette.edu

The vice president works in constant collaboration with the President to organize, facilitate, and orchestrate the ongoing affairs of organization. The vice president organizes the organization's mentorship program and the Professional Development Conferences (PDCs). It is the duty of the vice president to plan and host one to two extended training opportunities each academic year.

Secretary: Jillian Nichols, jillian.nichols@marquette.edu

The duties of the secretary include creating the monthly department newsletter, recording and distributing the minutes from the monthly GSO meetings, assisting in correspondence amongst the GSO, and being an active participant on the GSO executive board.

Treasurer: Kalyna Melnyk, kalyna.melnyk@marquette.edu

The treasurer is in charge of finances for the organization. It is the responsibility of the treasurer to collect member dues, non-member payments for PDCs, CECP student ticket funds for the Diversity Gala in the spring, and ortder food for GSO-sponsored events and monthly GSO meetings. Our financial status is tracked on Microsoft Office Excel spreadsheets and bank statements through U.S. Bank. The treasurer also keeps paper records of statements as a backup.

Volunteer Coordinator: Jerilyn Adams, jerilyn.adams@marquette.edu

The volunteer coordinator is responsible for the mentorship program in the beginning of the year. The person in this position is responsible for collecting applications and matching mentors and mentees. It is also expected that there are monthly volunteer opportunities either for the group to do or for people to partake in individually.

Diversity Chair: Juan Pantoja, juan.pantoja@marquette.edu

The diversity chair has the responsibility and honor of ensuring the Department of Counselor Education and Counseling Psychology is fostering a culturally inclusive environment where both students and faculty are able to grow professionally and interpersonally. The diversity chair takes the initiative of providing opportunities (e.g., events, meetings, forums, discussion groups, etc.) for individuals to become more aware, knowledgeable, gain skills, and be proactive as agents of change within their environments. The diversity chair needs to demonstrate maturity and value diversity in order to fulfill its duties.

Social Chairs:, Katrina Kiefer, katrina.kiefer@marquette.edu and Harshita Desai, harshita.desai@marquette.edu

The social chairs coordinate the planning and implementation of activities for organization members. It is the duty of the social chairs to organize one social event each month of the academic year, including the beginning of the year party. Other roles for the social chairs include planning and facilitating the Diversity Gala, organizing and leading a fundraising committee for the Diversity Gala, and to regularly communicate with the executive board members about the status of social events, including the Gala.

Doctoral Representative: Ryan C. Warner, ryan.c.warner@marquette.edu

The doctoral representative serves as a liaison between doctoral and master students in the Department of Counselor Education and Counseling Psychology. The doctoral representative assists the CECP GSO board with membership recruitment, program development, and dissemination of GSO event information.

Wisconsin Counseling Association Representative (WCA): Thomas Pfister, thomas.pfister@marquette.edu

The WCA representative serves as the liaison between the organization and the WCA. The duties of the WCA rep include being the face of the WCA at executive board meetings, promoting the free WCA membership to all students in the program, recruiting volunteers for WCA events, attending the Annual Summit, and promoting awareness and participation in all WCA events.

Wisconsin School Counselor Association Representative (WSCA): Savannah Sparks, savannah.sparks@marquette.edu

The WSCA representative serves as the liaison between the organization and the WSCA. The duties of the WSCA rep incled being the face of the WSCA at executive board meetings, attending monthly WSCA Graduate Student Board meetings, and promoting membership to all school counselors in the department. Depending on the year, the WSCA rep is also responsible for hosting the monthly WSCA Graduate Student Board meeting.

First Year Master's Representatives: Caroline Trustey, caroline.trustey@marquette.edu and Daniel Joseph Ferrer, danieljoseph.ferrer@marquette.edu

The first year representatives represent the interests of ALL first-year students to the executive board. The duties of the First Year reps include making regular contact with all first year students to ascertain if there are any questions or concerns to be addressed by the organization, educating first year students about the organization activities, and encouraging participation on organization committees among first year students.

 

 


SITE MENU

College of Education

Have a question or comment for the
College of Education?

Contact us.