College of Education Celebrates 2014 Alumni Award Winners

Released: 4/21/14

The following alumni will be honored at the College of Education Awards Conferral and Reception on Thursday, April 24, 2014 in the Henke Lounge at the Alumni Memorial Union. The event is part of the university-wide Alumni National Awards Weekend, a celebration honoring alumni from every college who represent the heart, soul, and spirit of Marquette.

Distinguished Alumnus of the Year Award

Lawrence H. SiewertLAWRENCE H. SIEWERT, BUS AD '63, GRAD '72
Wauwatosa, Wis.

It would be difficult to find a layperson who has made as much of an impact on local Jesuit education as Larry. 

Educational Policy and Leadership Achievement Award

Dr. Joann Kallenberger SternkeDR. JOANN KALLENBERGER STERNKE, SP '81
Pewaukee, Wis.

Named Wisconsin’s Superintendent of the Year for 2013, JoAnn leads the award-winning Pewaukee School District and works to help other school districts achieve their goals.

Counselor Education and Counseling Psychology 
Achievement Award

Dr. Bonnie J. Behee-SemlerDR. BONNIE J. BEHEE-SEMLER, GRAD '90, '96
River Hills, Wis.

For Bonnie, living the Marquette mission boils down to this simple but powerful goal: “Treat every person with respect, compassion and dignity.” And throughout her career, she has strived to do just that.

Young Alumna of the Year Award

Dr. Tatiana JosephDR. TATIANA JOSEPH, ARTS '05

Tatiana remembers what it was like to start school knowing very little English. Today she’s an assistant professor and program director for the Second Language Program in the School of Education at the University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee.


College of Education

Have a question or comment for the
College of Education?

Contact us.