Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees has fiduciary responsibility and is the principal governance authority for Marquette University. The board is responsible for preserving and enhancing Marquette’s mission and ensuring that long-term planning and goals are defined and executed by the university community.

Marquette’s bylaws stipulate that the Board of Trustees be comprised of not fewer than 25 and not more than 40 members, of whom no fewer than five and no more than eight must be members of the Society of Jesus. The university’s president serves ex-officio as a member of the board. The board is self-perpetuating, meaning that trustees are responsible for electing new members. Trustees serve for three-year terms and may be re-elected to serve for a maximum of 12 years. Trustees are volunteers and are not compensated for their service.

The board holds in trust Marquette’s human, physical, and financial and assets for future generations. The trustees are stewards of Marquette’s Catholic and Jesuit identity. They establish policies on university strategy, financial management, fundraising, investments, property and assets. The board is responsible for hiring and evaluating the university’s president. The day-to-day administration of Marquette is the responsibility of the university president and his leadership team.

John F. FerraroMr. John F. Ferraro
Chair of the Marquette Board, Bus Ad '77, Global Chief Operating Officer, Ernst & Young
Robert J. EckMr. Robert J. Eck
Arts ’80, President and CEO Anixter International Inc.
Richard J. FotschMr. Richard J. Fotsch
Eng '77, Grad '84, Retired President, Global Power Group, Kohler Co.
Rev. James GartlandRev. James G. Gartland, S.J.,
Rector, Blessed Peter Faber Jesuit Community, Boston College
Jon D. HammesMr. Jon D. Hammes
Managing Partner
Hammes Company
Nancy HernandezMs. Nancy Hernandez
Grad ’02, President and Founder ABRAZO Multicultural Marketing and Communication
Darren JacksonMr. Darren R. Jackson
Bus Ad '86, President and Chief Executive Officer, Advance Auto Parts
Rev. Thomas Lawler, S.J.Rev. Thomas A. Lawler, S.J.
Provincial, Wisconsin Province of the Society of Jesus
Patrick LawtonMr. Patrick S. Lawton
Bus Ad ’78, Grad ’80, Managing Director of Fixed Income Capital Markets, Robert W. Baird & Co.
Dr. Michael R. LovellDr. Michael R. Lovell
Marquette University
John LynchMr. John P. Lynch
Arts '64, Retired Senior Partner, Latham & Watkins
Rev. Patrick McGrath, S.J.Rev. Patrick McGrath, S.J.
Loyola Academy
Kelly McShaneMs. Kelly McShane
Arts ’68, Retired School Psychologist
Arnold MitchemDr. Arnold L. Mitchem
Grad '81, Retired President, Council for Opportunity in Education
Rev. Kevin F. O'Brien, S.J.Rev. Kevin F. O'Brien, S.J.
Vice President for Mission and Ministry at Georgetown University
Rev. Joseph O'Keefe, S.J.Rev. Joseph M. O'Keefe, S.J.
Professor of Education, Boston College
James O'RourkeMr. James D. O'Rourke
Bus Ad '87, Chief Executive Officer, A&A Manufacturing Company

Janis OrlowskiDr. Janis M. Orlowski
Eng '78, Senior Director, Health Care Affairs, American Association of Medical Colleges
Kristine A. RappéMs. Kristine A. Rappé
Special Advisor, Wisconsin Energy Foundation
Glenn (Doc) RiversMr. Glenn A. Rivers
Arts '85, Head Coach, Los Angeles Clippers
Scott A. RobertsMr. Scott A. Roberts
Bus Ad ’85, President, CEO, and Chairman of Ziegler Lotsoff Capital Management (ZLCM)
Hon. W. Greg RybergHon. W. Greg Ryberg
Arts '68, Former Senator, State of South Carolina
Scott H. SchroederMr. Scott H. Schroeder
Bus Ad ’92, Grad ’96, Law ’96, Founding Partner, Balyasny Asset Management
Owen J. SullivanMr. Owen J. Sullivan
Arts ’79, Retired CEO of Right Management, Jefferson Wells and President of Specialty Brands, ManpowerGroup
Charles M. SwobodaMr. Charles M. Swoboda
Eng '89, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Cree Inc.
Cherryl T. ThomasMs. Cherryl T. Thomas
Vice Chair of the Marquette Board, Arts '68, President and Chief Executive Officer, Ardmore Associates, LLC
Benjamin S. TracyMr. Benjamin S. Tracy
Comm '98, Grad '04, National Correspondent, CBS News
Peggy TroyMs. Peggy Troy
Nurs '74, President and Chief Executive Officer, Children’s Hospital and Health System
 James M. WeissMr. James M. Weiss
Arts '68, President, Weiss Capital Management, Inc.
Thomas H. WernerMr. Thomas H. Werner
Eng '86, President, CEO, and Chairman of the Board, SunPower Corporation
Hon. James A. Wynn, Jr. Hon. James A. Wynn, Jr.
Law '79, Federal Appeals Court Judge
US Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit
Rev. Michael A. Zampelli, S.J.Rev. Michael A. Zampelli, S.J.
Rector, Santa Clara Jesuit Community and Associate Professor of Theatre and Dance, Santa Clara University
Anne A. ZizzoMs. Anne A. Zizzo
Jour '87, President, Zizzo Group Marketing + Public Relations + New Media

Corporate secretary

Steven W. FriederMr. Steven W. Frieder